What's the difference between NMN and NAD+?
NMN is a longevity that nmn functions as a direct precursor to nad+ (nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide) through the nad+ salvage pathway. the conversion requires a single enzymatic step catalyzed by nmnat…. NAD+ is a longevity that redox cofactor function nad+ serves as the primary electron acceptor in catabolic reactions (glycolysis, tca cycle, fatty acid oxidation), cycling between its oxidized (nad+) and…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs Varies by form: NR ~8 hours plasma; NMN ~1-2 hours plasma; IV NAD+ infusion dose-dependent), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, NMN or NAD+?
NMN has a half-life of not reported. NAD+ has a half-life of Varies by form: NR ~8 hours plasma; NMN ~1-2 hours plasma; IV NAD+ infusion dose-dependent. Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Which is cheaper, NMN or NAD+?
Lowest listed price on BodyHackGuide: NMN from $69.99, NAD+ from $25.00. Prices are pulled from the vendor listings tracked on BHG and change frequently. See the compare tables on each compound page for the current set of offers.
Can you stack NMN and NAD+?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. NMN and NAD+ should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
Does NMN really raise NAD+ levels in tissue, not just blood?
Yes, multiple published trials show tissue-level NAD+ elevation. The classic argument that 'NMN doesn't enter cells' was based on early in vitro work; Imai's lab identified the Slc12a8 transporter (Nature 2019) as the route NMN takes into intestinal + muscle cells. Subsequent human trials measured intracellular NAD+ via skeletal muscle biopsy + showed dose-dependent NAD+ elevation. The mouse + human evidence both support real tissue penetration.
What's the difference between NMN and NR (nicotinamide riboside)?
Both are NAD+ precursors but enter the NAD+ salvage pathway at different points. NR converts to NMN inside cells (via NRK enzymes), then NMN converts to NAD+ (via NMNAT). NMN is one step closer to NAD+ but the practical difference is minimal; both raise tissue NAD+ at similar doses. NR has older + more published human safety data (Chromadex's Niagen is the patented form); NMN has more recent + larger cohort efficacy data (Yoshino, Liao). Pick whichever your supplier carries cheapest at high purity. The choice barely matters for outcomes.
Are NAD+ IV infusions worth the cost?
For chronic daily longevity support, no: NMN oral is dramatically more cost-effective. For acute situations, sometimes. Real-world contexts where IV NAD+ may justify the cost: severe burnout (athletes, executives), post-chemotherapy fatigue, addiction recovery (the Springfield/Birkmayer protocols), post-COVID fatigue rehab, high-intensity athletic preparation cycles. The subjective effect is more pronounced than oral precursors at peak; users report dramatic energy/cognitive shifts during + after the infusion. The half-life of the boost is limited though (3-7 days), so it's a tool for situational use, not chronic dosing.
Can you stack NMN with other longevity peptides like MOTS-c or epitalon?
Yes, different mechanisms with no known interactions. NMN raises NAD+ which supports sirtuin + PARP activity. MOTS-c activates AMPK + drives mitochondrial biogenesis. Epitalon affects telomere maintenance + circadian rhythm. Common longevity stack: NMN 500 mg morning + MOTS-c subQ 2×/week + epitalon SubQ cycle 10-day every 6 months. The aggregate covers multiple longevity pathways without significant overlap.
Will NMN interfere with intermittent fasting or autophagy benefits?
Likely no, possibly improves. NAD+ activates sirtuins (SIRT1, SIRT3) which are themselves autophagy promoters. Raising NAD+ should support, not blunt, the autophagy effects of fasting. The argument that 'NMN breaks a fast' is based on whether the precursor activates mTOR, and it doesn't significantly at typical doses. Most fasting + longevity protocols include NMN during the fasting window without measured interference with autophagy markers.