Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) vs Semax
Side-by-side comparison of Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) and Semax: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.
Price snapshot
Uridine Monophosphate (UMP)
Semax
Uridine Monophosphate (UMP)
Uridine monophosphate (UMP, also written 5'-UMP or uridine-5'-monophosphate) is the nucleotide form of uridine, consisting of the pyrimidine base uracil linked to a ribose sugar phosphorylated at the 5' position. It is…
No vendor price on file.
Full Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) profileSemax
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, 813 Da molecular weight) developed at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the 1980s. The compound is derived…
Lowest listed price: $32.90 across 5 listings
Full Semax profileSide-by-side comparison
| Attribute | Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) | Semax |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Nootropics | Nootropics |
| Research Stage | Clinical (human studies of uridine alone and inside the Souvenaid drink; the prodrug uridine triacetate is FDA-approved) | Approved in Russia; registered as a prescription intranasal solution |
| Mechanism of Action | Uridine monophosphate's mechanism of action as a nootropic is grounded in its role as a precursor for membrane phospholipid synthesis via the Kennedy pathway, with additional proposed effects on purinergic signalling, dopaminergic function, and synaptic… | Primary Mechanism: Multi-Pathway Neurotrophic Activation Semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective pathways. Unlike conventional nootropics that target a single system (modafinil… |
| Half-Life | — | ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes) |
| Typical Dose Range | — | 100-900 mcg intranasal daily (0.1% solution: 2-3 drops per nostril 2-3x daily); 1% solution used for acute stroke in Russian clinical protocols |
| Dosing Frequency | — | Intranasal 1–3 times daily |
| Administration | — | Intranasal |
| Side Effects | Uridine monophosphate has one of the most favourable safety profiles of any supplement in the nootropic space. It is a naturally occurring nutrient, present in human breast milk, liver, fish, and many other foods. Clinical trials with daily doses up to 2 grams… | Overall Safety Profile Semax has an excellent safety profile across 20+ years of Russian clinical use. In acute stroke trials, cognitive studies, and pediatric applications, Semax has demonstrated consistent tolerability with minimal adverse event burden. This… |
| Molecular Weight | 324.18 g/mol | 813.9 Da |
| Common Vial Sizes | — | 5mg, 10mg |
Price History
5 data points- OF
- Half Nattys
- Ion Peptide
- BHG Labs
Uridine Monophosphate (UMP): potential benefits
- D2/D3 receptor upregulation
- Mood stabilization
- Memory improvement
- Synaptic plasticity
- Neuronal membrane support
- Long-term cognitive enhancement
Semax: potential benefits
- Rapid BDNF/TrkB upregulation in the hippocampus, supporting synaptic plasticity and learning (PMID: 16996037)
- Neuroprotective, immunomodulatory gene-expression changes in focal cerebral ischemia (middle cerebral artery occlusion) models (PMID: 28255762)
- Cognitive enhancement including improved attention, working memory, and processing speed
- Dopaminergic modulation that may support motivation and executive function (preclinical data)
- Stroke recovery facilitation - accelerated functional recovery and improved Barthel Index in ischemic stroke patients; approved in Russia for ischemic stroke (PMID: 29798983)
- Anxiolytic and anti-asthenic effects reported in Russian clinical use, attributed to neurotrophic and monoaminergic modulation
- Non-addictive cognitive support without tolerance development or withdrawal at standard doses
Frequently asked
What's the difference between Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) and Semax?
Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) is a nootropics that uridine monophosphate's mechanism of action as a nootropic is grounded in its role as a precursor for membrane phospholipid synthesis via the kennedy pathway, with additional…. Semax is a nootropics that primary mechanism: multi-pathway neurotrophic activation semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) or Semax?
Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) has a half-life of not reported. Semax has a half-life of ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes). Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Can you stack Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) and Semax?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) and Semax should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
See current vendor prices
Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.
Before you buy Uridine Monophosphate (UMP) or Semax
Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.
Related comparisons
Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. Every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.