Noopept vs Semax
Side-by-side comparison of Noopept and Semax: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.
Price snapshot
Noopept
Semax
Noopept
Noopept is the common brand and research name for N-phenylacetyl-L-prolylglycine ethyl ester (GVS-111; INN omberacetam), a small dipeptide nootropic developed in the 1990s at the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences'…
Lowest listed price: $49.99 across 1 listing
Full Noopept profileSemax
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, 813 Da molecular weight) developed at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the 1980s. The compound is derived…
Lowest listed price: $32.90 across 5 listings
Full Semax profileSide-by-side comparison
| Attribute | Noopept | Semax |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Nootropics | Nootropics |
| Research Stage | Preclinical | Approved (Russia, since mid-1990s for stroke and cognitive disorders) |
| Mechanism of Action | Noopept's mechanism of action is multifaceted and — despite decades of research — incompletely understood. Several convergent pathways have been proposed, each supported by preclinical data but none definitively established as the primary driver of its… | Primary Mechanism: Multi-Pathway Neurotrophic Activation Semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective pathways. Unlike conventional nootropics that target a single system (modafinil… |
| Half-Life | — | ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes) |
| Typical Dose Range | — | 100-900 mcg intranasal daily (0.1% solution: 2-3 drops per nostril 2-3x daily); 1% solution used for acute stroke in Russian clinical protocols |
| Dosing Frequency | — | Intranasal 1–3 times daily |
| Administration | — | Intranasal |
| Side Effects | Noopept is generally well tolerated in the Russian clinical literature, with side effects that are typically mild and transient. However, "well tolerated in Russian open-label trials" is a weaker safety claim than the rigorous multi-phase trial data underlying… | Overall Safety Profile Semax has an excellent safety profile across 20+ years of Russian clinical use. In acute stroke trials, cognitive studies, and pediatric applications, Semax has demonstrated consistent tolerability with minimal adverse event burden. This… |
| Molecular Weight | 318.37 g/mol | 813.9 Da |
| Common Vial Sizes | — | 5mg, 10mg |
Price History
2 data pointsPrice History
5 data points- OF
- Half Nattys
- Ion Peptide
- BHG Labs
Noopept: potential benefits
- Memory enhancement
- BDNF/NGF upregulation
- Neuroprotection
- Focus and learning speed
- Anxiety reduction (moderate)
- Anti-amyloid properties
Semax: potential benefits
- Rapid BDNF/TrkB upregulation in the hippocampus, supporting synaptic plasticity and learning (PMID: 16996037)
- Neuroprotective, immunomodulatory gene-expression changes in focal cerebral ischemia (middle cerebral artery occlusion) models (PMID: 28255762)
- Cognitive enhancement including improved attention, working memory, and processing speed
- Dopaminergic modulation that may support motivation and executive function (preclinical data)
- Stroke recovery facilitation - accelerated functional recovery and improved Barthel Index in ischemic stroke patients; approved in Russia for ischemic stroke (PMID: 29798983)
- Anxiolytic and anti-asthenic effects reported in Russian clinical use, attributed to neurotrophic and monoaminergic modulation
- Non-addictive cognitive support without tolerance development or withdrawal at standard doses
Frequently asked
What's the difference between Noopept and Semax?
Noopept is a nootropics that noopept's mechanism of action is multifaceted and — despite decades of research — incompletely understood. several convergent pathways have been proposed, each supported by…. Semax is a nootropics that primary mechanism: multi-pathway neurotrophic activation semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, Noopept or Semax?
Noopept has a half-life of not reported. Semax has a half-life of ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes). Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Which is cheaper, Noopept or Semax?
Lowest listed price on BodyHackGuide: Noopept from $49.99, Semax from $32.90. Prices are pulled from the vendor listings tracked on BHG and change frequently. See the compare tables on each compound page for the current set of offers.
Can you stack Noopept and Semax?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. Noopept and Semax should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
See current vendor prices
Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.
Before you buy Noopept or Semax
Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.
Related comparisons
Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. We earn an affiliate commission on some outbound clicks, and every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.