CDP-Choline vs Semax
Side-by-side comparison of CDP-Choline and Semax: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.
Price snapshot
CDP-Choline
Semax
CDP-Choline
CDP-choline (cytidine 5'-diphosphocholine, pharmaceutical name citicoline) is a naturally occurring intracellular intermediate in the Kennedy pathway for phosphatidylcholine synthesis — the primary biochemical route by…
Lowest listed price: $69.99 across 1 listing
Full CDP-Choline profileSemax
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, 813 Da molecular weight) developed at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the 1980s. The compound is derived…
Lowest listed price: $32.90 across 5 listings
Full Semax profileSide-by-side comparison
| Attribute | CDP-Choline | Semax |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Nootropic | Nootropics |
| Research Stage | Preclinical | Approved (Russia, since mid-1990s for stroke and cognitive disorders) |
| Mechanism of Action | CDP-choline operates through a distinctive dual-substrate delivery mechanism that differentiates it from all other cholinergic precursors: oral citicoline is rapidly hydrolyzed to cytidine and choline in the gut, both components are absorbed and cross the… | Primary Mechanism: Multi-Pathway Neurotrophic Activation Semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective pathways. Unlike conventional nootropics that target a single system (modafinil… |
| Half-Life | — | ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes) |
| Typical Dose Range | — | 100-900 mcg intranasal daily (0.1% solution: 2-3 drops per nostril 2-3x daily); 1% solution used for acute stroke in Russian clinical protocols |
| Dosing Frequency | — | Intranasal 1–3 times daily |
| Administration | — | Intranasal |
| Side Effects | CDP-choline has one of the most favorable safety profiles of any cognitive-support compound, with decades of European prescription use and extensive global supplement use documenting low rates of adverse events at therapeutic doses of 250-2,000mg/day. Common… | Overall Safety Profile Semax has an excellent safety profile across 20+ years of Russian clinical use. In acute stroke trials, cognitive studies, and pediatric applications, Semax has demonstrated consistent tolerability with minimal adverse event burden. This… |
| Molecular Weight | 488.32 g/mol | 813.9 Da |
| Common Vial Sizes | — | 5mg, 10mg |
Price tracking
Price History
5 data points- OF
- Half Nattys
- Ion Peptide
- BHG Labs
CDP-Choline: potential benefits
- Acetylcholine support
- Dopamine D2 upregulation (via uridine)
- Focus and attention
- Memory
- Neuroprotection
- Stroke recovery
Semax: potential benefits
- Rapid BDNF/TrkB upregulation in the hippocampus, supporting synaptic plasticity and learning (PMID: 16996037)
- Neuroprotective, immunomodulatory gene-expression changes in focal cerebral ischemia (middle cerebral artery occlusion) models (PMID: 28255762)
- Cognitive enhancement including improved attention, working memory, and processing speed
- Dopaminergic modulation that may support motivation and executive function (preclinical data)
- Stroke recovery facilitation - accelerated functional recovery and improved Barthel Index in ischemic stroke patients; approved in Russia for ischemic stroke (PMID: 29798983)
- Anxiolytic and anti-asthenic effects reported in Russian clinical use, attributed to neurotrophic and monoaminergic modulation
- Non-addictive cognitive support without tolerance development or withdrawal at standard doses
Frequently asked
What's the difference between CDP-Choline and Semax?
CDP-Choline is a nootropic that cdp-choline operates through a distinctive dual-substrate delivery mechanism that differentiates it from all other cholinergic precursors: oral citicoline is rapidly hydrolyzed to…. Semax is a nootropics that primary mechanism: multi-pathway neurotrophic activation semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, CDP-Choline or Semax?
CDP-Choline has a half-life of not reported. Semax has a half-life of ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes). Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Which is cheaper, CDP-Choline or Semax?
Lowest listed price on BodyHackGuide: CDP-Choline from $69.99, Semax from $32.90. Prices are pulled from the vendor listings tracked on BHG and change frequently. See the compare tables on each compound page for the current set of offers.
Can you stack CDP-Choline and Semax?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. CDP-Choline and Semax should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
See current vendor prices
Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.
Before you buy CDP-Choline or Semax
Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.
Related comparisons
Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. We earn an affiliate commission on some outbound clicks, and every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.