Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) vs Semax
Side-by-side comparison of Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) and Semax: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.
Price snapshot
Sabroxy (Oroxylin A)
Semax
Sabroxy (Oroxylin A)
Sabroxy is a standardized Oroxylum indicum (Indian trumpet tree) bark extract - typically 10% oroxylin A - sold as a nootropic supplement ingredient. Preclinical work points to dopaminergic (dopamine-reuptake-inhibiting)…
No vendor price on file.
Full Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) profileSemax
Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, 813 Da molecular weight) developed at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the 1980s. The compound is derived…
Lowest listed price: $32.90 across 5 listings
Full Semax profileSide-by-side comparison
| Attribute | Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) | Semax |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Nootropics | Nootropics |
| Research Stage | Preclinical, with one supporting human RCT | Approved (Russia, since mid-1990s for stroke and cognitive disorders) |
| Mechanism of Action | Sabroxy is a standardized whole-plant extract of Oroxylum indicum (Indian trumpet tree) bark, typically standardized to 10% oroxylin A, and also containing related flavones such as baicalein and chrysin. Because it is a multi-constituent botanical rather than… | Primary Mechanism: Multi-Pathway Neurotrophic Activation Semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective pathways. Unlike conventional nootropics that target a single system (modafinil… |
| Half-Life | — | ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes) |
| Typical Dose Range | 500-1,000 mg | 100-900 mcg intranasal daily (0.1% solution: 2-3 drops per nostril 2-3x daily); 1% solution used for acute stroke in Russian clinical protocols |
| Dosing Frequency | Once to twice daily (500 mg per dose) | Intranasal 1–3 times daily |
| Administration | — | Intranasal |
| Side Effects | In the 12-week human trial the extract was well tolerated; the only notable adverse effects versus placebo were a slightly higher rate of mild digestive complaints and headaches [PMID:34531736]. Because of its stimulant-like, dopaminergic and wake-promoting… | Overall Safety Profile Semax has an excellent safety profile across 20+ years of Russian clinical use. In acute stroke trials, cognitive studies, and pediatric applications, Semax has demonstrated consistent tolerability with minimal adverse event burden. This… |
| Molecular Weight | — | 813.9 Da |
| Common Vial Sizes | — | 5mg, 10mg |
Price History
5 data points- OF
- Half Nattys
- Ion Peptide
- BHG Labs
Sabroxy (Oroxylin A): potential benefits
- Episodic memory: in the one human trial, a standardized Oroxylum indicum extract improved episodic memory and immediate word recall versus placebo [PMID:34531736].
- Working memory and learning speed: the same trial reported gains in numeric working memory and a faster rate of learning on a location-learning task [PMID:34531736].
- Focus and attention (preclinical): dopaminergic, stimulant-like activity reduced inattention and impulsivity in an ADHD rat model [PMID:23371806].
- Neuroprotection and BDNF (preclinical): rodent studies show increased BDNF/CREB signaling, less neuroinflammation, and enhanced hippocampal neurogenesis [PMID:17174385][PMID:41330961].
- Antioxidant and mitochondrial support (preclinical): the extract lowered oxidative stress and restored mitochondrial function in mice [PMID:34081735].
Semax: potential benefits
- Rapid BDNF/TrkB upregulation in the hippocampus, supporting synaptic plasticity and learning (PMID: 16996037)
- Neuroprotective, immunomodulatory gene-expression changes in focal cerebral ischemia (middle cerebral artery occlusion) models (PMID: 28255762)
- Cognitive enhancement including improved attention, working memory, and processing speed
- Dopaminergic modulation that may support motivation and executive function (preclinical data)
- Stroke recovery facilitation - accelerated functional recovery and improved Barthel Index in ischemic stroke patients; approved in Russia for ischemic stroke (PMID: 29798983)
- Anxiolytic and anti-asthenic effects reported in Russian clinical use, attributed to neurotrophic and monoaminergic modulation
- Non-addictive cognitive support without tolerance development or withdrawal at standard doses
Frequently asked
What's the difference between Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) and Semax?
Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) is a nootropics that sabroxy is a standardized whole-plant extract of oroxylum indicum (indian trumpet tree) bark, typically standardized to 10% oroxylin a, and also containing related flavones such as…. Semax is a nootropics that primary mechanism: multi-pathway neurotrophic activation semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) or Semax?
Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) has a half-life of not reported. Semax has a half-life of ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes). Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Can you stack Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) and Semax?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) and Semax should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
See current vendor prices
Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.
Before you buy Sabroxy (Oroxylin A) or Semax
Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.
Related comparisons
Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. We earn an affiliate commission on some outbound clicks, and every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.