Skip to content
    Compare notes on r/BodyHackGuideCompare notes with other researchers. Join r/BodyHackGuide

    Hawthorn vs Semax

    Side-by-side comparison of Hawthorn and Semax: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.

    Hawthorn: no price on file
    Semax from $32.90

    Price snapshot

    Hawthorn

    Current low
    —
     
    7-day low
    —
    not enough history yet
    30-day low
    —
    not enough history yet
    30-day change
    —
    not enough history yet

    Semax

    Current low
    $32.90
    current listings
    7-day low
    —
    not enough history yet
    30-day low
    —
    not enough history yet
    30-day change
    —
    not enough history yet

    Hawthorn

    Hawthorn (Crataegus species — principally Crataegus monogyna, C. laevigata, C. pinnatifida, and C. cuneata) is the most extensively studied cardiovascular botanical in the Western pharmacopoeia and one of very few herbs…

    No vendor price on file.

    Full Hawthorn profile

    Semax

    Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, 813 Da molecular weight) developed at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences in the 1980s. The compound is derived…

    Lowest listed price: $32.90 across 5 listings

    Full Semax profile

    Side-by-side comparison

    Attribute Hawthorn Semax
    Category herb Nootropics
    Research Stage Preclinical Approved (Russia, since mid-1990s for stroke and cognitive disorders)
    Mechanism of Action Hawthorn's mechanism of action is multi-component and reflects the complex phytochemistry of Crataegus species. The three principal constituent groups — oligomeric proanthocyanidins (OPCs), flavonoids, and pentacyclic triterpenes — act in parallel on distinct… Primary Mechanism: Multi-Pathway Neurotrophic Activation Semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective pathways. Unlike conventional nootropics that target a single system (modafinil…
    Half-Life — ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)
    Typical Dose Range — 100-900 mcg intranasal daily (0.1% solution: 2-3 drops per nostril 2-3x daily); 1% solution used for acute stroke in Russian clinical protocols
    Dosing Frequency — Intranasal 1–3 times daily
    Administration — Intranasal
    Side Effects Hawthorn has one of the most favorable safety profiles of any cardiovascular herb studied in modern controlled trials — the 2,681-patient SPICE trial documented mild, transient adverse event rates similar to placebo, and post-marketing surveillance from… Overall Safety Profile Semax has an excellent safety profile across 20+ years of Russian clinical use. In acute stroke trials, cognitive studies, and pediatric applications, Semax has demonstrated consistent tolerability with minimal adverse event burden. This…
    Molecular Weight — 813.9 Da
    Common Vial Sizes — 5mg, 10mg

    Price History

    5 data points
    • OF
    • Half Nattys
    • Ion Peptide
    • BHG Labs

    Hawthorn: potential benefits

    • No structured benefit list published.

    Semax: potential benefits

    • Rapid BDNF/TrkB upregulation in the hippocampus, supporting synaptic plasticity and learning (PMID: 16996037)
    • Neuroprotective, immunomodulatory gene-expression changes in focal cerebral ischemia (middle cerebral artery occlusion) models (PMID: 28255762)
    • Cognitive enhancement including improved attention, working memory, and processing speed
    • Dopaminergic modulation that may support motivation and executive function (preclinical data)
    • Stroke recovery facilitation - accelerated functional recovery and improved Barthel Index in ischemic stroke patients; approved in Russia for ischemic stroke (PMID: 29798983)
    • Anxiolytic and anti-asthenic effects reported in Russian clinical use, attributed to neurotrophic and monoaminergic modulation
    • Non-addictive cognitive support without tolerance development or withdrawal at standard doses

    Frequently asked

    What's the difference between Hawthorn and Semax?

    Hawthorn is a herb that hawthorn's mechanism of action is multi-component and reflects the complex phytochemistry of crataegus species. the three principal constituent groups — oligomeric…. Semax is a nootropics that primary mechanism: multi-pathway neurotrophic activation semax produces its effects through coordinated activation of multiple neurotrophic, neurotransmitter, and neuroprotective…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes)), and typical dose range.

    Which has the longer half-life, Hawthorn or Semax?

    Hawthorn has a half-life of not reported. Semax has a half-life of ~2-3 minutes plasma half-life (functional neurological effects persist 12-24 hours due to BDNF/NGF gene expression changes). Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.

    Can you stack Hawthorn and Semax?

    Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. Hawthorn and Semax should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.

    See current vendor prices

    Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.

    Hawthorn prices Semax prices Compare all compounds

    Before you buy Hawthorn or Semax

    Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.

    View Vendor Scorecard

    Related comparisons

    Selank vs Semax

    Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. Every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.