Apigenin vs Melatonin
Side-by-side comparison of Apigenin and Melatonin: mechanism, half-life, dose range, safety profile, and vendor pricing.
Price snapshot
Apigenin
Melatonin
Apigenin
Apigenin is a plant-derived flavone (4',5,7-trihydroxyflavone) that occurs widely in the plant kingdom as a constituent of leaves, flowers, and seeds. Structurally it is a flavone — distinguished from flavonols like…
No vendor price on file.
Full Apigenin profileMelatonin
Melatonin (chemical name N-acetyl-5-methoxytryptamine) is an endogenous neurohormone synthesized primarily by the pineal gland and, in smaller quantities, by the retina, gut, skin, bone marrow, lymphocytes, and…
Lowest listed price: $44.99 across 1 listing
Full Melatonin profileSide-by-side comparison
| Attribute | Apigenin | Melatonin |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Flavonoid | Sleep & Circadian |
| Research Stage | Preclinical | Preclinical |
| Mechanism of Action | Apigenin exerts its biological effects through multiple pathways reflecting its broad receptor and enzyme interactions. CD38 inhibition: Escande and colleaguesidentified apigenin as an inhibitor of CD38, a membrane-bound ectoenzyme that hydrolyzes NAD+ to… | Melatonin operates through at least four distinct mechanistic pathways that together account for its diverse physiological effects: (1) MT1/MT2 receptor activation for circadian and sleep effects; (2) nuclear receptor (ROR/RZR) modulation for anti-inflammatory… |
| Half-Life | — | — |
| Typical Dose Range | — | — |
| Dosing Frequency | — | — |
| Administration | — | — |
| Side Effects | Apigenin is generally well-tolerated in both dietary and supplemental contexts. Common and uncommon adverse effects include: Gastrointestinal effects (most common): Mild nausea, bloating, or loose stools occur in a small percentage of users, typically mild and… | Melatonin has an exceptionally wide safety margin and has been used in clinical doses up to 300mg/day in oncology protocols without serious acute toxicity. However, side effects are common at supraphysiological doses (3mg and above) and are often misattributed… |
| Molecular Weight | — | — |
| Common Vial Sizes | — | — |
Price tracking
Frequently asked
What's the difference between Apigenin and Melatonin?
Apigenin is a flavonoid that apigenin exerts its biological effects through multiple pathways reflecting its broad receptor and enzyme interactions. cd38 inhibition: escande and colleaguesidentified apigenin…. Melatonin is a sleep & circadian that melatonin operates through at least four distinct mechanistic pathways that together account for its diverse physiological effects: (1) mt1/mt2 receptor activation for circadian…. The two differ in mechanism, half-life (not reported vs not reported), and typical dose range.
Which has the longer half-life, Apigenin or Melatonin?
Apigenin has a half-life of not reported. Melatonin has a half-life of not reported. Longer half-lives generally mean less frequent dosing but slower on/off kinetics.
Can you stack Apigenin and Melatonin?
Stacking depends on mechanism overlap, safety profile, and goals. Apigenin and Melatonin should only be stacked after reviewing each compound's individual protocol page, side effect profile, and any published interaction data. Use the BodyHackGuide stack builder for a structured review before combining research compounds.
See current vendor prices
Listings from the vendors we track. Prices change often, so check the vendor before you buy.
Before you buy Apigenin or Melatonin
Check the vendor trust score. Every supplier we track is rated 0-100 on COA verification, payment transparency, shipping, reviews, and listings: one published, reproducible methodology, applied to every vendor.
Related comparisons
Research use only. BodyHackGuide is a research and price-comparison reference. The compounds discussed on this page are not approved by the FDA for human consumption and are sold strictly for laboratory research. Prices shown are pulled from vendor listings tracked on BHG and are subject to change. Every vendor is ranked on the same public, reproducible methodology. See editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.